ISU College of Science and Engineering announces new Department of Physics, Nuclear and Electrical Engineering

POCATELLO – A new Idaho State University Department of Physics, Nuclear and Electrical Engineering was created by merging the Departments of Physics, Nuclear Engineering and Health Physics and Electrical Engineering, ISU officials announced.

Wendland Beezhold has been named chair of the department. Beezhold will also serve as the director for the Idaho Accelerator Center.

All degree programs previously offered in the merged departments will continue without changes. The new department will be comprised of four program areas: physics, health physics, electrical engineering and nuclear engineering.

The department office will be located in the Physical Science Complex, Room 120. This restructure will go into effect immediately.

This new restructuring is designed to create synergy between these different departments and opportunities for additional collaboration. It is also designed to make these programs more efficient, less expensive and more transparent to all students. No job losses will result from this action.